Paul Fletcher MP

Switch to desktop

Community voices to be heard loud and clear through Forum on Western Sydney Airport led by Professor Peter Shergold AC

Media Releases Monday, 10 April 2017

The Turnbull Government today announced the 22 members of the Forum on Western Sydney Airport (FOWSA), to be chaired by Professor Peter Shergold AC, Chancellor of Western Sydney University. FOWSA will be a critical community consultation mechanism in the lead up to the new Western Sydney Airport commencing operations in 2026.

Members were selected following a call for nominations in late 2016. They bring a broad range of skills, expertise and local knowledge and are drawn from diverse locations including Camden, Liverpool, Penrith, Fairfield, and the Blue Mountains. FOWSA’s members include 10 community representatives, 5 representatives nominated by local councils, and members representing other stakeholder groups. “As we develop a project of the scale of Western Sydney Airport, it is critical that the voice of the community is heard loud and clear,” said Minister for Urban Infrastructure, Paul Fletcher. “FOWSA will meet regularly – at least three times a year – and its members will be briefed on the many complex issues involved in planning a new airport. “With his extensive experience in leading and chairing public, private and not-for-profit organisations and bodies, and his strong familiarity with Western Sydney issues as Chancellor of Western Sydney University, Professor Peter Shergold AC is ideally suited to leading this important body,” Mr Fletcher said. “I am very pleased to take on the role of chair of FOWSA,” said Professor Shergold.

“Western Sydney Airport will be a very important facility for Western Sydney, and the community must have a say in its planning and development.” FOWSA will be a key consultation mechanism on issues such as flight path planning. The Airport Plan, which is the formal document granting approval to construct an airport, requires that community views are taken into account when designing final flight paths for Western Sydney Airport.

FOWSA will also have a strong focus on how to maximise the economic, employment and educational opportunities from Western Sydney Airport. The airport will create thousands of jobs and bring a significant economic boost to Western Sydney. The airport is expected to generate nearly 9000 direct jobs by the early 2030s – in addition to thousands of jobs during the construction phase of this multibillion dollar project. As well as the on-airport jobs, there will be many jobs generated by the businesses which will be attracted to locate near the airport - in sectors such as logistics, education, professional services, high-tech manufacturing, conferences and exhibitions, tourism and accommodation. FOWSA’s first meeting will be held in May 2017. More information on FOWSA can be found at can be found at

The members of FOWSA are; 

Professor Peter Shergold AC (Chair) – Chancellor, Western Sydney University
Senator the Hon Marise Payne – Senator for New South Wales
Dr Mike Freelander MP – Federal Member for Macarthur
Ms Anne Stanley MP – Federal Member for Werriwa
Mr Christopher Patterson MP – New South Wales State Member for Camden
Mr Mario Bayndrian – General Manager, Aviation, Sydney Metro Airports Bankstown and Camden
Mr David Borger – Western Sydney Director, Sydney Business Chamber
Ms Joanne Bromilow – Resident of Blaxland
Mr Damian Callachor – Senior Manager, Government Industry and International Affairs, Qantas
Ms Adriana Care – Resident of Camden-Narellan
Ms Kiersten Fishburn – CEO, Liverpool City Council
Mr Bob Germaine – Executive Officer, Regional Development Australia Sydney
Mr Gordon Henwood – Resident of Mulgoa
Mr Mike Higgins – CEO, Regional Aviation Association of Australia
Mr Jacob Idiculas – Resident of Bossley Park
Ms Fiona Mann – Strategic Activities Planner, Hawkesbury City Council
Ms Alison Morgan – Director, Sydney Region, Regional Coordination Branch, New South Wales
Department of Premier and Cabinet
Mr Luke Nicholls – Director, City and Community Outcomes, Blue Mountains City Council
Mr Adrian Slootjes – Manager, Air Traffic Management and Meteorology, Virgin Australia
Cr John Thain – Mayor, Penrith City Council
Mr Paul Tosi – former General Manager, Campbelltown City Council
Mr John Walton – Resident of Silverdale
Mr Wayne Willmington – Resident of Luddenham

Media Contact – Andrew Blow 0411 403 937

Authorised by Paul Fletcher MP, Level 2, 280 Pacific Highway Lindfield NSW 2070.

Top Desktop version