

THE HON PAUL FLETCHER MP

Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts

MEDIA RELEASE

17 May 2021

ABC Board Appointments

The Morrison Government has appointed Mr Mario D'Orazio, Ms Fiona Balfour and Mr Peter Tonagh to the ABC Board as non-executive Directors.

All three will commence their five-year appointment to the roles immediately, filling vacancies created by the expiry of the terms of Dr Kirstin Ferguson on 11 November 2020 and Ms Donny Walford on 23 November 2020, and the resignation of Dr Vanessa Guthrie on 19 March 2021.

Mr D'Orazio brings extensive experience as a senior executive in Australian media to this role, developed over a 30-year career with Channel 7 Perth, including eight years as Managing Director.

Mr Tonagh also has an extensive background as a senior executive in significant Australian media companies, working for News Corporation entities for nearly fourteen years in senior executive roles across each of the key Australian businesses, including as Chief Executive Officer of Foxtel, REA and News Corp Australia.

Ms Balfour has extensive experience in the aviation, telecommunications, financial services and education sectors. Her experience is in information and communications technology, and in global business solutions across a variety of technologies, including digital channel management.

Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts the Hon Paul Fletcher MP said: "I congratulate Mr D'Orazio, Mr Tonagh and Ms Balfour on their appointment and look forward to the valuable contribution they will make to the ABC Board."

Media contact:

Imre Salusinszky | 0432 535 737 | Imre.Salusinszky@communications.gov.au